Recap Online Mission 30 April: Make Your Smart City an European Smart City

Thursday 30 April, 3 PM (CET)

Thursday 30 April we went on an Online Mission to Brussels (Belgium) for a talk with guest speakers Mr Eddy Hartog, Head of Unit Smart Mobility and Living at European Commission. All over Europe cities are transforming to a smart city, but how can we collaborate between cities and the EU to make interoperable smart cities? Citizens-centric communities, cities where our technical sovereignty is warranted and where we have control on technique and our data. Mrs Fatma Koser Kaya, vice-mayor of the city of Amersfoort opened the meeting. The city of Amersfoort was among the first municipalities to sign the Declaration and are strong believers of working together on smart cities in European context.

On this page you can download the presentation, watch the video recording of the meeting and find the links metioned in the presentations.
This online get-together was made possible by the Netherlands Enterprise Agency (RVO).

Click here to download the presentation of Mr Eddy Hartog. (1.3 MB)

View the Declaration of Porto, on joining forces to boost sustainable digital transformation in cities and communities in the EU. Also known as the movement.

The organisations below are among the initiators for the Declaration of Porto.

EU instruments – Research & Innovation

Horizon 2020 for research and innovation projects:

Eureka for international R&D projects:

  • Eurostars: International R&D collaboration for SMEs
  • Cluster projects: ITEA3 (Software/ICT projects) and PENTA (Hardware/Micro/Nano electronics projects)

Support on EU instruments?

For the Netherlands – contact RVO.
Contact us at for:

  • Tips and tricks for writing and submitting proposals
  • Feedback on your proposal
  • Training and information
  • Matchmaking (Enterprise Europe Network)

From another country?

Find your National Contact Point (NCP) for Horizon 2020
NCPs are also established in many non-EU and non-associated countries.

Or your NCP for the Eureka Network
EUREKA currently counts 41 full members, including the European Union; 1 partner country: – South Korea and 4 associated countries: Argentina, Canada, Chile and South Africa. Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina are National Information Points.